May 30, 2019

2019 Kishwaukee College BOT Award of Excellence recipients announced

Kishwaukee College announced the annual Award of Excellence recipients at the End of Year Employee Event held at Hopkins Park on May 3. The Board of Trustees sponsors the Awards of Excellence program to recognize outstanding employees and their contributions to the College. Community members, college personnel, students, and alumni submitted nominations in five categories: Full-Time Faculty, Adjunct Faculty, Support Staff, Professional Staff, and Part-Time Staff.

The nominees for Full-Time Faculty were Will Michels, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Teaching Chair; Kathy Schnier, Assistant Professor of Nursing; and Paula Stroud, Assistant Professor of Psychology. The 2019 recipient of the Full-Time Faculty Award of Excellence is Kathy Schnier. Schnier has been faculty since 1982. Aside her many contributions to the department throughout her 37 years, she has been described by her peers as a humble leader who embraces the opportunity for change and growth.

The nominees for Adjunct Faculty were JoAnn LoSavio, Adjunct Instructor of Anthropology and Loretta Swanson, Adjunct Instructor of Art. The 2019 recipient of the Adjunct Faculty Award of Excellence is Loretta Swanson. Swanson began her career as an educator in 1991 and joined Kish in 2015. She is commonly referred to as the single-most knowledgeable person at Kish on the permanent art collection because she took on the tremendous task of cataloguing and documenting the entire collection. She readily teaches both traditional and online courses at the College.

The nominees for Support Staff were Cindy Karasewski, Administrative Assistant of TRIO Student Support Services; Kim Jordal, Administrative Assistant of Arts/Communications/Social Sciences; Elyse Roberts, Social Media Specialist; and Susan Tyler, Custodian. This year’s recipient of the Support Staff Award of Excellence is Kim Jordal. Jordal began at Kish part-time in 2007 and transitioned into a full-time Admissions Assistant in 2012. She has been in her current Administrative Assistant role since 2017. Her unique experience on both the student services and academic side of the College make her a wealth of knowledge. Colleagues attribute the small changes she implements as making their jobs easier.

The nominees for the Professional Staff Award were Missy Gillis, Director of Student Outreach & Educational Partnerships; Kim Green, Academic Coordinator of TRIO Student Support Services; and Sean Kesselring, Lead Academic Advisor. This year’s recipient of the Professional Staff Award of Excellence is Missy Gillis. Gillis came to the College in 2017 with decades experience in higher education. Alongside her director position, Gillis is the Assistant Cross Country Coach and Career Technology Academic Advisor. Her unmatched energy, pride, and passion for Kish have made her an asset to the College.

The nominees for the Part-Time Staff Award were Lindsay Barron, Web Developer and Julie Oberheim, Academic Advisor. The 2019 recipient of the Part-Time Staff Award is Lindsay Barron. Barron joined Kish in 2008 as the Web Developer and has since served as the resident go-to expert of the website. She goes beyond her job responsibilities to train faculty and staff on the website as well as staying current with the latest technology. 

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners. The College is very appreciative of the dedicated service to the Kish community. 

Photo: Kishwaukee College announced the Board of Trustees 2019 Award of Excellence recipients at the End of Year Employee Event on May 3. Pictured are this year’s recipients, L to R: Kathy Schnier, Full-Time Faculty award recipient; Kim Jordal, Support Staff award recipient; Missy Gillis, Professional Staff award recipient; and Loretta Swanson, Adjunct Faculty award recipient. Pictured Lindsay Barron, Part-Time Staff award recipient.