May 14, 2018

Twenty-Nine Students Inducted into NSLS

The Kishwaukee College chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) held an induction ceremony on campus on Friday, May 4. The NSLS chapter at Kish was established in Fall 2014. The chapter advisors are Scott Kawall and Pernevlon Ellis.

The mission of NSLS is to help students discover and achieve their goals. The Society, founded by Gary Tuerack, emphasizes the six steps of leadership: clarification of purpose, creation of a shared vision, challenge of the status quo, inspiration of positive action, empowerment of others, and continuous improvement. The society was founded in 2001 and currently has over half a million members at 500 colleges across the United States.

New Chapter officers for the 2018 – 2019 academic year, recognized at the induction ceremony, are: Christine Newman-Askins, Rochelle, President; Tiffany Newman-Askins, Rochelle, Vice President; Rosemary Komes, DeKalb, Society Events; and Emily Plauck, Sycamore, Community Service Chair.

In addition, members who qualified for National Engaged Leader Awards (NELA) were recognized. NELA members have attended additional speaker broadcasts, network team meetings and community service hours above and beyond the standard membership requirements. Receiving NELA recognitions were: Erika Cabral, Rochelle; Rosemary Komes, DeKalb; Emily Plauck, Sycamore; and Armani Searcy, DeKalb.

The Chapter also recognized faculty and staff members at Kishwaukee College for their support of the student experience on campus. Receiving a Plaque of Recognition were the following: for Excellence in Teaching – Tania Nezrick and Laura Murdaugh; for Excellence in Service to Students – Kim Green and Tracy Komadina.

At the induction ceremony at Kishwaukee College, 29 students joined NSLS. Inducted into the Society in Spring 2018 are:

Belvidere – Pamela Hulton

Chana - Joseph Catalano

Corland - Samantha Guadarrama

Dekalb – Anna Arnold, Taylor Casey, Deana Clark, Travis DeOliveira, Waad Elgosbi, Micaela Garcia, Jacob Giuliano, Steven Horton, Ginger McQueen, Kwangjum Moon, Jack Murphy, Abraham Rodriguez, Jordan Smith, Alyssa Toma, Jorge Trejo

Kingston - Christina Fisher, Joann Wille

Mount Morris – Kyle Anderson

Paw Paw – Bethany Strohman

Rochelle – Celeste Almaraz

Sycamore - Sandra Brasher Jorns, Devynn Gordon, Rebecca Hungerford, Madison Hunt, Lindsey Kwidzinski, Tom Mitchell