November 6, 2018

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts new members

The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed 22 new members this fall at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony held in Jenkins Auditorium at the College on October 16.

The ceremony was presided over by the current officers of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter: Jonathan Prose, Oregon, President; Katherine Yunek, Sycamore, Vice-President; Richard Ragan, Lee, Hallmark Officer; Elizabeth Fritz, Sycamore, Public Relations Officer; and Olin Simpson, Shabbona, Recording Officer. The Kishwaukee College chapter faculty advisors are Dominica Blalock and Timothy Anderson.

During the ceremony, inductees and their families and friends were welcomed to the College by Dr. Laurie Borowicz, President of Kishwaukee College. Attendees enjoyed a guitar performance by Eric Schroeder, Music instructor at the College. The key note speaker was Laurie Hoecherl, Teaching Chair of Math/Science/Business at Kish.

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, is the largest honor society in higher education. Founded in 1918, there are now 1,250 Phi Theta Kappa chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, and other countries around the world. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually. The society offers opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment, and personal development through programs based on the society’s hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of college level course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on 4.0 scale. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college. 

The following Kishwaukee College students were honored with membership in this prestigious organization for Fall 2018:

Belvidere: Alec Tworek;

Cortland: Jacob Ihm; Serene Labadi; Victoria Pham

DeKalb: Normam Donahue; Ataur Rab; Lily Smith-Riel; Whitney Sprague;

Genoa: Skylar Doherty; Jennah Smith;

Kingston: Amanda Ness;

Oregon: Raven Brewer; Hailey White;

Rochelle: Callie Ackland; Carley Ackland; Nancy Lopez Torrez;

Sycamore: Celia Carpenter; Emily Enriquez; Bryce Hanson; Jacob Madden